Hullaballoo (Dunc)

The BBC is currently dedicating 95% of broadcast news coverage to the student shootings in West Virginia.

I’ve just been hooked to the TV for the past 3 hours. It’s like watching a very slow episode of 24 unfold. The expertly contrived tension is broken every hour or so by a smiley, Marks and Spencers clad bint harping on about “frosts in Wiltshire”.

The shooting is undoubtedly a sad event.

But Duncan, so are the multitude of deaths occurring in Darfur and Iraq everyday, I don’t see you transfixed to the TV to watch those stories?

Well, the news doesn’t put on as good a show. Plus, those people look a bit different from me, speak a language I don’t understand and probably haven’t been out on a student piss up recently.

Shucks, well that’s OK then. You just feel more sympathy for those you perceive as “your own”.

Hey, I don’t like what your implying chump! I buy the Guardian I’ll have you know and I’m a member of Amnesty International. I also thought “serves you right” when one  local student mother (student not harmed) stated she was still “pro gun” because ” I always hev bin, uh-huh”.

I stand corrected. You’re obviously a candidate for “Humanitarian of the Year”.

Yeah, yeah whatever. I bet you’re terrorist. I’m off to watch FOX News.

15 Responses to “Hullaballoo (Dunc)”

  1. Sophia Says:

    You get Fox News there? Entertaining stuff that, especially Bill O’Reilly.

  2. dlaird Says:

    Yup, we get FOX News and all it’s fantastic bile soaked drivel.

    Bill O’Reilly is very entertaining indeed. I’d be even more entertained by him if someone put him in a blender.

  3. Rory Says:

    I think the point has been passed when you can check gun ownership.

    Anyway Jefferson said the reason behind the 2nd ammenment right to bear arms is that the citizenry be armed to defend themselves against tyrannical government, as a last resort.

    Gun ownership should be mandatory. Toegether with education and training. The Swiss have it like this and don’t kill anyone. Except cookoos.

    As Sophia might point out, the number of leagaly owned guns per capita is much higher in Canada and they don’t shoot each other ever! (Not too sure on the last point).

    If I ever move to America I’m packing heat (2 guns they’ll call me. I pack all manner of heat).

  4. Sophia Says:

    You’re right, we tend not to kill each other with guns… we find more creative ways.

    But to be fair, the incidence of gun violence in Toronto has gone up considerably, because of all these fools pretending to be straight out of Compton’s… although my understanding is they get most of their guns from the US.

  5. Rory Says:

    Does it matter if some people got whacked in some collage anyway. The world’s going to hell in a handbasket.

    Expect the incidence of whacky occurances to increase.

  6. NeaL Says:

    Some people got murdered in a work of visual arts made from an assemblage of different forms, thus creating a new whole. Excellent – I’d like to see it. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Collage

  7. Rory Says:

    Murder as an artform. Nice.

    No doubt Amnesty International activists will get angry on your ass.

    Death is an intrinsic part of life. It’s actually as close a thing to mathamatical certainty we know as a race.

    How do we know that one of the merdered! students wouldn’t have grown up to be Hitler mark 2? Or the next American Idol winner?

  8. dlaird Says:

    Collage Rory….collage….

    Would you like a penny to drop?

  9. Rory Says:

    What penny?

  10. NeaL Says:

    Duncan is waiting for his balls to drop.

  11. dlaird Says:

    They’re gonna drop right into Mrs. Campbell’s mouth during one our regular tea bagging sessions.

  12. NeaL Says:

    I guess you could say I walked into that one.

  13. Rory Says:

    He’s a cheeky monkey

  14. Joe Says:

    ah, I see the generally highbrow nature of conversation on these here comments hasn’t diminished at all while I’ve been away on me hols then.

  15. NeaL Says:

    Fuck off Clarke. If you’ve got nothing constructive to say just do one. So how were your holidays? Where’d you go? I hope it rained.

Leave a Reply

